Fakhar Zaman Challenges Umpire After Controversial Not Out Call, Video Goes Viral | Cricket News


Last Updated:

Fakhar Zaman argues with umpires over a disputed catch in the Pakistan vs Sri Lanka T20I tri-series final in Rawalpindi.

Fakhar Zaman argues with the umpire (Picture credit: Screengrab from X)

Fakhar Zaman argues with the umpire (Picture credit: Screengrab from X)

Star Pakistan batter Fakhar Zaman was seen arguing with the on-field umpires during their T20I tri-series final against Sri Lanka, after a diving catch taken by him was deemed to be not out in the game in Rawalpindi.

The incident happened in the penultimate over of Sri Lanka’s innings, with Shaheen Afridi bowling to Dasun Shanaka. The former delivered a slower ball on the stumps, and Shanaka’s flick produced a leading edge toward short third man.

Fakhar, positioned inside the circle, sprinted back and timed a perfect dive to complete what seemed like a clean two-handed catch.

On-field umpires Ahsan Raza and Asif Yaqoob judged it out but referred to the third umpire to see if the ball had touched the ground. Replays showed Fakhar’s wrists brushing the turf, though the ball seemed secure in his palms.

The front-on angle, however, confirmed Fakhar had grounded the ball while completing the dive, leading third umpire Rashid Riaz to rule Shanaka not out. Fakhar was frustrated, with teammates shocked, as he argued he had full control of the catch throughout.

Watch the video here:

The controversy was short-lived. On the very next delivery, Shaheen bowled another clever slower ball and Shanaka swung, missing it as the ball crashed into his leg stump. Shaheen erupted in celebration, roaring and glancing toward the third umpire’s box in a pointed gesture, as if to say this dismissal needed no confirmation. Emotions ran high, with some abusive language exchanged.

Still emotional, Fakhar gestured toward the TV umpire, while Shaheen raised his arms in triumph. Shanaka walked back after scoring just two runs off seven deliveries and Pakistan seized the momentum after the disputed catch. 

News cricket Fakhar Zaman Challenges Umpire After Controversial Not Out Call, Video Goes Viral
Disclaimer: Comments reflect users’ views, not News18’s. Please keep discussions respectful and constructive. Abusive, defamatory, or illegal comments will be removed. News18 may disable any comment at its discretion. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Read More





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *